Makestation
Would you use a tablet instead of a computer in 2020? - Printable Version

+- Makestation (https://makestation.net)
+-- Forum: Technical Arts (https://makestation.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=45)
+--- Forum: Technology & Hardware (https://makestation.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=29)
+--- Thread: Would you use a tablet instead of a computer in 2020? (/showthread.php?tid=2720)

Pages: 1 2 3

Would you use a tablet instead of a computer in 2020? - Darth-Apple - February 16th, 2020

I have a $50 tablet (Kindle Fire HD 8, the larger version that I found on sale). And it runs circles around most computers from 15 years ago. I started programming on one of those computers. It was powered by a 600 mhz Pentium 3. Let's just say that it was slow enough that it would take ten seconds just to load an image. You'd see a progress bar pop up showing you how much time it had left to load an image. 

That said, that old Pentium 3 box was very, very responsive for what it was. It didn't feel slow until you tried to do anything with it. It'd load up a web browser or respond to the UI like it was a modern machine. 

Tablets have kinda changed the landscape a bit. They are easy. You can carry them with you easily, have a little keyboard attached, and call it a day. They last a week on a single charge, and can do almost anything a computer could do. 

People are already using iPads for this. Would you use a modern tablet to replace your laptop? If not yet, do you think the answer will be yes in five years? 

Oh, and in five years, the iPad will probably steal a lot of market share from laptops, I'm sure... iOS is still lacking compared to Mac OS, however. It's getting there, but it's still a tablet, not a computer OS, and that is something android is ahead of Apple on currently. Finna

RE: Would you use a tablet instead of a computer in 2020? - Guardian - February 16th, 2020

I can't do it. Tongue